You can compare a version to the current version for any customizable object that a user has modified, such as a form layout or business rule. You can also compare the local and current pulled version of an object in Team Development. Administrators can suppress versions for specific tables.
Role required: none
To compare a version to the current version of an object:
-
Open the Compare to Current page using one of the methods given in the below table.
Option
Action
From a Versions list
Right-click the version and select Compare to Current.
From the Update Versions form
Click the Compare to Current related link.
[Omitted image "CompareToCurrentForm.png"] Alt text: The Compare to Current page includes a diff/merge tool that highlights the fields that differ.
-
On the Compare to Current page, review the fields that differ.
Option
Action
**To resolve the differences by choosing the previous version**
- Team Development: Click **Revert to Selected Version**.
- For a version of an object: Click **Use Local Version** to maintain the local record as the current version. The pulled version is added to the version history for the record.
**To resolve the differences by modifying the current version and saving the merged changes__Note:__ Some types of record do not support this method. See [Limitations on updating records](https://raw.githubusercontent.com/ServiceNow/ServiceNowDocs/australia/markdown/australia/application-development/team-development/r_LimitationsOnResolvingCollisions.md) for more information.
**
You can either update the setting in the current record or move a setting from the selected version to the current version. To move a change, click the **>** \(Move Right\) button for the field in the diff/merge tool. To work with scripts and text fields, click in the field and modify the text as needed. When the records meet your needs, click:- Team Development: Click **Save Merge** to save the changes to the current version.
- Team Development: Click **Use Pulled Version** or **Use Local Version** option to accept or reject all changes, as appropriate.
- On the upgrade history Compare to Current form, the only option is **Revert to Base System**
Parent Topic:Versions
Related topics
Merge tool
Compare to the current version
Compare a pushed version to a local version
Compare two versions of an article
Resolve conflicts for an individual record
Resolve a collision in Team Development
Revert a change
View customizations and compare with current version